BTEC National Health & Social Care Diploma

Mandatory units

We have to cover the following units

1 Human Lifespan Development

2 Working in Health and Social Care

3 Anatomy and Physiology for Health and Social Care

4 Enquiries into Current Research in Health and Social Care

5 Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs

6 Work Experience in Health and Social Care

7 Principles of Safe Practice in Health and Social Care

8 Promoting Public Health

Optional Units

10 Sociological Perspectives

11 Psychological Perspectives

12 Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs

14 Physiological Disorders and their Care

19 Nutritional Health Understanding Mental Wellbeing

The styles of external assessment used for Health and Social Care suite are:

  • examinations – all learners take the same assessment at the same time, normally with a written outcome
  • set tasks – learners take the assessment during a defined window and demonstrate understanding through completion of a vocational task.

External assessments are available twice a year.

See Mr Boucher for more information.